Florida Concealed Carry Permit Lawyer
Miami Gun Rights Lawyer Providing Effective Representation For 47+ Years
Florida does not require a permit or license to buy a gun, nor are you required to register the gun(s). However, you do need a license to carry a concealed weapon. When purchasing a gun, there are still criteria to ensure that no minors, no non-citizens of the United States, and nobody with certain criminal convictions on their record are permitted to obtain a weapon.
How to Get a Concealed Carry Permit in Florida
If you are interested in getting a concealed carry gun permit in Florida, you should know that you have the option of getting a concealed carry permit in Florida by mail or in person.
Concealed Carry Permit In Person
If you are getting a Florida concealed gun permit in person you have the option of going to a Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) regional office or an approved tax collector's office in Florida.
Here are some things you need to bring to your Florida concealed carry permit appointment:
- Government or state-issued picture ID.
- Documents showing Firearm Training proficiency.
- Pay the $97.00 licensing fee.
- Possible other documents
- Reading Chapter 790 Florida Statutes (F.S)
It's important to note that regional offices do not accept cash and tax collectors may charge convenience fees of up to $22.00. Tax collectors also have the option of choosing which payment methods they accept, so it's important to contact them ahead of time.
Once you've completed your application, you'll need to swear and confirm that you have been given a copy of Chapter 790. F.S.
Concealed Carry Permit by Mail in Florida
If you are getting a Concealed Weapon or Firearm License by mail, here's how to do it:
- Download the instructions for the application.
- Download theapplication for a Concealed Weapon/Firearm License.
- Submit your fingerprints to the local sheriff's office or police department.
- Mail your application to the below address:
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Division of Licensing at P.O Box 6687 Tallahassee, FL 32314-6687.
How Long Does it Take to Get a Concealed Carry Permit in Florida?
If you applied for a concealed carry gun permit your application process should be an hour or less, then it will get sent out for processing. Regardless if you applied in person or by mail for your gun permit, the FDACS has 90 days after the receipt of the application to issue your concealed weapon license or deny your application.
Denied Concealed Carry Permit in Florida
When you are applying for a Florida concealed carry permit, which allows you to carry a weapon on your person, it is possible that your application will be denied if you have any marks on your criminal record or fail to meet other criteria for carrying a concealed weapon.
If you have applied for a concealed weapon permit and been denied, a Miami gun rights lawyer at Jeffrey S. Weiner, P.A. can help you understand why and appeal the decision.
Contact us for your free consultation with a concealed carry lawyer! We are available 24/7 to help you with your gun permit in Florida.
Why Was My Concealed Carry Permit Denied?
There are various reasons your application might be denied by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, including:
- You are the subject of a restraining or protection order or injunction
- You have a history of mental instability, been committed to a mental institution, or adjudged incompetent or mentally defective.
- You have been convicted of a specific crime
- You have been convicted of a felony (unless civil and firearm rights have been restored by the convicting authority)
- A warrant for your arrest has been issued
- You are prohibited from possessing a firearm by any other law, state or federal
Your Options When Your Application for a Florida Concealed Carry Permit Is Denied
The first thing that you need to do if your application for a concealed weapons permit is denied is to determine the precise reason for the denial. Then, depending upon the case, you may either seek to have your record expunged or appeal the decision.
As a note, when the state of Florida denies a request for a concealed carry permit, it is required to inform the applicant of the denial and of the reason in writing. The state must also inform the applicant of any right to a hearing, as found in Florida Statutes § 790.06.
Florida Concealed Weapons Permit Lawyer
Contact the Miami gun rights attorneys at Jeffrey S. Weiner, P.A. if your concealed carry permit has been denied in Florida.
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
“Excellent knowledge and grasp of the law”- Ileana Ros-Lehtinen on Google
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
“"In this world it is not always "what" you know, it is truly "who" you know."”- Robert D., on Google
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
“"Jeff is not only a colleague, he is one of my closest friends, someone I respect and admire for the way he has served and continues to serve his clients."”- David Elden, on Google
We Are Top-Rated Criminal Defense Attorneys
We Get the Best Possible Result in Each Case
We Have Served Criminal Defense Clients and Fellow Lawyers For Over 47 Years
We Wrote “the Book” on Federal Criminal Rules & Cases
We Are Available 24/7 for Emergencies & Offer Free Initial Consultations